Toll Free 1-877-506-2744
How can we help?

Merging and Splitting Relationships

Print Friendly Version of this pagePrint Get a PDF version of this webpagePDF

Merging relationships within PrecisionLender is quick and easy.

  • A "merge" icon in your Relationship list indicates your user security profile has the right to merge one relationship into another
  • Mergers made in this way will persist through subsequent updates to data from your core system

 

Who Can Merge Relationships?

 

In order to merge one relationship into another, a user must have one of the following rights on the "disappearing" relationship:

  • They must own it OR
  • They must have the rights to delete it, see it (have "View All" Relationship rights AND the Relationship is in one of the user's visible regions), AND save it (see "Rights to Save" below).

The user also must have Rights to Save the surviving Relationship.

 

In order for a user to successfully save a relationship, they must meet one of the following conditions:

  • They have rights to Create and Own Relationships OR
  • They have Edit Any rights and can see the Relationship (have "View All" Relationship rights AND the Relationship is in one of the user's visible regions) OR
  • They are the owner of the surviving Relationship.

Let's work through these rules with a couple of examples:

Example 1: Lender A owns Relationship 123 and wants to merge it into Relationship 456. Lender A owns both relationships. Can Lender A successfully merge these relationships?

Yes, Lender A can merge these relationships because he owns the "disappearing" Relationship 123 and his ownership of Relationship 456 gives him the right to Save the surviving relationship.

Example 2: User A can view Relationship 123, and wants to merge it into Relationship 456, which they can also view. The relationships are owned by two different lenders within the region. User A's profile does not give them permission to Delete relationships, but does grant permission to Create and Own and View All on relationships. Can User A successfully merge these relationships?

No, despite meeting the requirements to Save the surviving relationship, since User A does not own the "disappearing" relationship nor does User A have Delete rights on Relationships, User A would not meet the requirements on the "disappearing" relationship and so would not be able to merge Relationship 123 into Relationship 456.

 

Merging Relationships

 

When you have the Relationship Awareness module, PrecisionLender uses a unique identifier from your bank’s core system--a taxpayer ID for example--to create each relationship. However, just because an entity stands separately in a legal respect doesn't mean that your lender thinks of it separately from its related owners and entities. PrecisionLender can mirror how your lenders think about and manage their customer relationships, which is why PrecisionLender permits the merging of relationships. When relationships are merged, the “surviving” relationship chosen is the name under which all the merged relationship activity will be found and calculated Strategic Value is for all active loans and deposits under that Relationship.

 

You can identify a merged relationship by seeing multiple identifiers in the upper right corner, as well as the “Split” command in the upper left. 

 

The Split button is in the toolbar at the top.

 

 

To merge relationships, from the Relationship list, click on the icon next to the Relationship name that you want to survive the merger.

 

Click the Merge icon next to the Relationship you want to survive.

 

The "surviving" relationship will be displayed at the top of the box on the right side. You can click "Merge In" on any of your other relationships to indicate you would like to merge them under the surviving relationship. You can also search for a specific Relationship name using the Search box. Click "Remove" to remove any relationship you no longer want to merge from the list. Click "Merge" to complete the merge.

 

 

Click Merge to complete the merge.

 

Any subsequent data refreshes from your core system will not suddenly unwind any previously completed Relationship mergers—PrecisionLender ensures that mergers (just like transfers of ownership) persist through subsequent data refreshes.

 

Splitting Relationships

 

You can always reverse a portion of or an entire merger by using the “Split” functionality. 

Click the Split button at the top of the page.

 

 

When you click the "Split" button on a previously merged relationship, a pop-up appears allowing you to split out items from the selected relationship into a new relationship. From here you can name the new relationship, and split out opportunities, external identifiers, and core accounts.

 

The Split pop-up allows you to split merged relationships.

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions?